• Search

Ohio Issues Stay-At-Home Order, More States Expected Today

Ohio has issued a stay-at-home order.

Columbus, OH – Governor Mike DeWine announced Sunday that a stay-at-home order has been issued for the state of Ohio.

The order will go into effect Monday night and will last until at least April 6, according to WCMH.

Ohio joins California, New York, Pennsylvania, Illinois, New Jersey, and Nevada in ordering non-essential businesses to close and residents to stay at home unless necessary.

New Orleans has already issued a stay-at-home order, and Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards is expected to announce a statewide order at a Sunday press conference.

In Missouri, St. Louis County and Kansas City have issued similar orders and the state may follow soon.

Oregon has an informal stay-at-home order and is expected to make a formal order soon.

Washington hasn’t issued a formal stay at home order yet, despite being one of the hardest-hit states by Coronavirus with over 1,700 cases. Gov. Jay Inslee suggested Saturday that there are legal issues that would need to be figured out to issue a mandatory order.

All non-essential businesses in states with stay-at-home orders must close, and all social gatherings must be canceled.

Businesses that can stay open include banks, laundromats, grocery stores, gas stations, pharmacies, auto repair shops, hardware stores, pet stores, medical services, and medical marijuana dispensaries.

Restaurants are allowed to continue providing take-out.

People are told to only go out to shop at essential businesses, get medical care, care for friends or family, or exercise while maintaining social distancing.

Christopher Berg - March Sun, 2020


Sign up to our daily newsletter so you don't miss out on the latest events surrounding law enforcement!

Follow Me

Follow us on social media and be sure to mark us as "See First."